Meet our Stakeholders

National Union of Mineworkers (NUM)

The National Union of Mineworkers (NUM) was formed on 04 December 1982. Its birth was facilitated by Cyril Ramaphosa who rose to be its first General Secretary, James Motlatsi its first President, and Elijah Barayi who became its Vice President.

The NUM has 11 regions and a dedicated office and stuff complement in every region, to ensure access of tis serves to members across the country and across the sectors.

The first congress launch took place in Klerksdorp. At the time of the launch there were only four regions present, and the union recorded a membership of 14 000, which has since grown into the giant union that it is today.

The NUM is the largest recognised collective bargaining agent representing workers in the mining, construction and electrical energy industries in South Africa, the largest affiliate of COSATU and is internationally affiliated with ICEM.